Remembering Dave

(Monorisick remix)

2017.01.21, by Ansel
Filed under Grief, Hip-hop, Journal, Music

Seems like yesterday me an’ my man were chillin’
Got a smile on his face no matter how he was feelin’
Why is it that the good are the first to go?
Word is bond sun my heart can't take no more
I’ve been trying to maintain but the pain is a strain
Memories of Dave forever stain my brain
So you’ll never be forgotten
Shirts with your name on it
They gon’ be rockin’ till they’re mildewed an’ rottin’

Coping with you passing on has been rough
Even brought tears to eyes to guys that play tough
Now I’m thinkin’ ’bout you from lunar to soular
Can’t believe we came so close but yet so far
What’d you have to die for?
It hurts more
When I think of all the things that you had in store

Cause that ladder of succession you were steadily climbin’
When you began rhymin’ you were shining like a diamon’
And you just started
Now you’re dearly departed
I’m feeling heavy-hearted and I can’t disregard it
But every time I rhyme I can feel you in me
Now you’re in a better place to watch over us an’ Jimmy

Why do we live and die
Why do we flip then cry
When we all know that
Nothing is forever on this earth
We try to cure the hurt
Though it seems nothing really works

Why do we live and die
Why do we flip then cry
When we all know that
Nothing is forever on this earth
We try to cure the hurt
Though it seems nothing really works

Mother’s Day morning when it all occurred
Remember when I first heard, thought that it was absurd
And it couldn't be true
Anybody but you
Said you had so many unfinished things to do
And to call him “talented” was an understatement
You could wait around for years never find a replacement
There can never be another who can take his place
Know his fam would give anything to see his face

It’s so hard to say goodbye yet so easy to go
Every boy you know, we will soon follow
To the other side where his brother died
Man it hurt inside when I heard his brother cry
Stand strong
Why did Death have to pick you and come and get you
Best believe as long as we breathe
We still miss you
Every other day someone else is deceased
I lost my pops, my uncle, and my niece
My grandfather, friend, and I’m probably next
Feels like we’re born to die an’ it's gettin’ me vexed
DJ if you’re watchin’, be my armour through the drama
’Cause it don't cease!
David Ross, rest in peace!

Why do we live and die
Why do we flip then cry
When we all know that
Nothing is forever on this earth
We try to cure the hurt
Though it seems nothing really works